Blossoming…. Part 1: The Call

The phone had been ringing for quite a while now. It rings every night from 9 to 11 pm, but she never answers it. He knows that she will answer his calls one day, so he tries daily without fail. But, she is so mad at him that she she just never answers. Everyday she spends those two hours looking at the screen of the phone that says : “Shant calling…  Answer or Decline .” She’d look at the screen continuously and fall asleep, hugging her cellphone.

It’s been a month since this has been happening. But, today was  different. Today she is more broken than she can handle. She is more lonely than she can ever survive being.  Her sobs have become louder than they were in the evening. She hugs the phone tight and finally decides she’ll answer his call if he called one more time. It was already 11:05. She knew he never called that late. She knew he won’t call one more time, but every drop of tear that rolled down her cheek prayed for his call.

And suddenly, the phone rang again. It was Sushant. She was overjoyed. She immediately answered the call. “Hello shant”, she whispered in a low voice. “Hello tanu, thank God you answered my call. Where have you been? Why don’t you take my calls??  My God, I missed you so much. Are you still angry at me?  I am soo sorry. I was really stuck that day. I couldn’t call you back. And, the next day I had continuous shots for my upcoming movie. It just slipped my mind. I am really sorry. I’ll make it upto you. Please forgive me, please. By the way, you heard about my upcoming movie? Hey, you there?? Hello???”

…. to be continued

Leave a Reply

